Year of the Entrepreneur proclaimed in Saskatchewan

July 28, 2011

Saskatchewan today joined with the Canadian Federation Independent Business (CFIB) and the Canadian Youth Business Foundation (CYBF) to declare 2011 the Year of the Entrepreneur. This declaration coincides with the CFIB’s 40th anniversary and the 15th anniversary of the CYBF. “Entrepreneurship is the foundation on which our economy is built, and we want entrepreneurs to know Saskatchewan offers reduced business taxes, better regulations, mentorship and financial support,” Enterprise Minister Jeremy Harrison said. “We look forward to continued collaboration between the CFIB, CYBF and the Government of Saskatchewan in making it easier for businesses to do business in our province.”
Saskatchewan cities continue to be seen favourably among entrepreneurs. Saskatoon, Lloydminster and Prince Albert were ranked in the top ten of CFIB’s latest list of Canada’s entrepreneurial cities. The Conference Board of Canada forecasts that Saskatchewan will lead the country with a growth rate of 3.9 per cent, an analysis shared by seven other leading institutions.
“We’re delighted Saskatchewan has declared 2011 the Year of the Entrepreneur,” CFIB president Catherine Swift said. “We give credit to the Saskatchewan government for recognizing the major contributions of entrepreneurs who drive employment and the economy in good times and bad.” “At CYBF we are supportive of the Province of Saskatchewan for declaring 2011 the Year of the Entrepreneur,” The Canadian Youth Business Foundation Chief Executive Officer Vivian Prokop said. “It is clear that the government recognizes the enormous contribution of our small business leaders to Saskatchewan’s economic recovery. Year of the Entrepreneur is about shining a light on the unsung heroes of Saskatchewan: the innovators, job creators and wealth generators who are moving this province forward.”
Enterprise Saskatchewan has been working to make the province competitive to entrepreneurs through the establishment of the Entrepreneurship Council and the Youth Economic Engagement Council. These councils, comprised of stakeholders from various business sectors, provide relevant and timely recommendations to reduce barriers and promote economic development in the province.